Bill Bennett

Bill Bennett

ChatGPT flatters to deceive

From the ubiquitous AI:

“Bill Bennett, a prominent New Zealand technology journalist, has covered the Mobile World Congress (MWC) for several years. His reporting on MWC events includes coverage from 2011 to 2020, where he provided insights and updates on various technological advancements and industry trends .”

In fact I’ve been to MWC twice: 2016 and 2019 I was set to go in 2020, but the event was cancelled thanks to the pandemic.

Why ask a robot?

It’s not vanity searching I was reduced to asking ChatGPT to find out the dates I reported on MWC because Google Search has become utterly useless for this kind of task. Apart from anything else, it has delisted dozens of pages from my site in recent weeks, but even pages that are indexed don’t always surface in a search.

As it turns out, ChatGPT is just as useless. I found the dates by searching for the local copies of website posts that I keep on my hard drive. This exercise shows why keeping careful archives is useful.

Oh… and about that “prominent”. I guess the AI is smart enough to attempt flattery, but not smart enough to know I’m not fooled.