Bill Bennett

Bill Bennett

Deconstructed Breakfast Burrito:

Here’s my go-too recipe when you need a filling, high protein breakfast but don’t have a lot of time for fancy cooking.

You can get this on the table in five minutes. It’s also inexpensive.

The name is because it loosely resembles what you can sometimes buy for breakfast in a burrito.

You need:

One or more eggs. If I’m hungry and I won’t get to eat for a long time I’ll use two. Otherwise one is enough. I use posh free-range eggs, but you can get away with any fresh eggs.

Some baked beans. About a third to half a tin of baked beans should do it. I use the organic ones that come with a less sugary tomato sauce, but any bakes beans will do. This also works well with butter beans and, at a pinch, other types of tinned beans so long as they are soft.

Cheese. I use New Zealand Tasty Cheddar cheese. Again, you can use most similar cheeses. I chop up about half a cup or so of cheese into small chunks. You could use pre-grated cheese.

Tabasco or other hot sauce.

Mix everything in a microwave safe dish, cover and microwave for around 90 seconds, give it a good stir and microwave again. You want the egg to scramble and be firm, but not overcooked. The cheese should be melted and runny.

Tip it on a plate and go.

The recipe is loose… you can play around with quantities. In fact everything about this recipe is relaxed. Feel free to use it as a jumping off point.