Bill Bennett

Bill Bennett

The end of an era

My last story on NZBusiness magazine.

nzbusiness.co.nz/article/a…

There will be an online edition, but the print version has finished and so has the budget for freelance journalist.

25 years ago I was in a bar with an older journalist discussing how the internet would affect us. He said the demand for journalists would die. but that the new industry would “see us out”.

I was less optimistic. Apart from anything else, I had longer to go. He was about ten or 12 years older than me and passed away a few years back.

He was right, the industry did see him out. Just about.

Me? I’m not so sure. Technically I’m close to retirement, but traditional journalism barely makes up a quarter of my income now. If another publication closes, that’ll more or less be it.